Meditation Systems
In my book 'You are the Light of the World' I developed this theme breaking down the meditation stages from a universal perspective. I outlined 9 stages of actual meditation that can be applied to any religious or spiritual tradition.
1. Withdraw.
2. Assume meditation posture.
3. Breath awareness.
4. Attune to your heart centre.
5. Focus on light forms.
6. Focus on sound forms.
7. Focus on presence.
8. Become transformed/born again.
9. Practise love and service.
Meditation in our class
The best way to become a master of meditation is to practise every day 20 minutes in the morning and 20 minutes in the evening at sunset and sunrise using one simple method that synchronises with your deepest beliefs, outlook and aspirations.

However for many people this is not possible. Sitting through a guided meditation in a group is the next best thing. We follow best yoga sequencing to get into a meditative/contemplative state for the rest of the Yoga class. Each week we focus on:
Between the 1st and 4th centuries BC Patanjal outlined his Yoga system made up of 8 'limbs' - this is the meaning of the word Ashtanga. The 8 limbs he outlined are:
1. Yama-think of good character.
2. Niyama - think of positive personal qualities.
3. Asana - good posture - all yoga postures fit here.
4. Pranayama - breath awareness.
5. Pratyahara - withdrawing closing down the senses.
6. Dharana - concentration with effort on object.
7. Dhyana - concentration without effort on object.
8. Samadhi - subject and object become one.
Meditation is part of the human condition. Recently the mindfulness movement has popularised the practise because of its therapeutic benefits. It has always been a part of religious and spiritual practise and recently science, psychology and healthcare communities have all explored the practise.

9 Stages of Meditation
Yoga in Warrington